Years of issue:


Coin Information:

Issued to commemorate the 50th Anniversary of health secretary Aneurin Bevan establishing the National Health Service in 1948. The principle aim was to provide a health service available to all and financed entirely from taxation. The coin was designed by David Cornell, who is most famous for his Diana Princess of Wales Memorial £5 coin design.